MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

4:33 UTC
ISC 2022
 
  Forum*
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
CHESS
SOLVING

Tournaments
Rating lists
1-Jan-2022

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum General Cylinder Chess Castling Codex
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Saturday, Jan 8, 2022 17:52]

Cylinder Chess Castling Codex


What is the accepted usance? In absence of retro, anyone who can castle
by declaring a certain rank or file or both allocation, may castle
(thereby fixing rank/file, possibly allowing or denying the opponent
to castle)?
 
(Read Only)pid=22108
(2) Posted by Joost de Heer [Saturday, Jan 8, 2022 18:48]

Vertical cylinder:
White can castle kingside with a rook on h1 or a1 (with the usual castling conventions regarding having moved, empty squares and guarded squares), the king ends up on g1 and the rook on f1.
White can castle queenside with a rook on h1 or a1 (with the usual castling conventions regarding having moved, empty squares and guarded squares), the king ends up on c1 and the rook on d1.
I assume youou can figure out the rules for black.

Vertical Möbius strip: No idea how 'extra-long castling' would work. The 8th rank should probably be empty.

Horizontal cylinder/Möbius strip: Since the begin position is illegal, retro is absent in a horizontal cylinder/Möbius strip. Only one side could possibly castle, and normal rules apply.
Torus/Möbius torus: Since the begin position is illegal, retro is absent in a horizontal cylinder/Möbius strip. Only one side could possibly castle, and normal rules apply.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=22109
(3) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Sunday, Jan 9, 2022 11:02]

I better should rephrase: Assume in the printed diagram wKd1, wRg1 is present,
vertical cylinder. Has this any relevance, or can White say "d is
actually e, I castle"?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22110
(4) Posted by Joost de Heer [Sunday, Jan 9, 2022 13:15]

Convention is that the diagram is printed with the e-file as the e-file. Only in retros (I think I remember a Ceriani composition with stipulation 'Where's the a-file?') you can have a shifted board.

Here's the Ceriani problem: https://www.janko.at/Retros/Glossary/Cylindrical.htm
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22112
(5) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Sunday, Jan 9, 2022 20:34]

I.e. you can't have something like this?

(= 3+5 )

1.Ke2? O-O-O (declares a as e)
1.O-O (declares O-O-O illegal)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22115
(6) Posted by Andrew Buchanan [Monday, Jan 10, 2022 07:42]

I like the Retro Strategy extension - except Black has no last move that retains castling rights?
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22117
(7) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Monday, Jan 10, 2022 10:33]

Ph7->h6 then - it was meant as a demo anyway; I didn't
even check if there is an accidental mate after O-O-O :-)
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22119
(8) Posted by Joost de Heer [Monday, Jan 10, 2022 10:54]

You'll have to be careful with the square colouring though. E.g. with wKe1, bKb8 and a regular diagram, black can't claim the b-file to be the original e-file because 'e'8 has the wrong square colouring.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=22122
(9) Posted by Andrew Buchanan [Monday, Jan 10, 2022 11:00]

@Joost: shade of square doesn't prevent board rotation by 90 degrees though. Why would it necessarily interfere with Vertical Cylinder? I think that generally the shading of squares is retained mainly to be helpful for readers to see. Although strictly it is specified in the Laws, in principle the shade could be omitted from a published diagram if it mattered.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=22125

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum General Cylinder Chess Castling Codex