|(1) Posted by Vitaly Medintsev [Friday, Feb 7, 2014 23:02]; edited by Vitaly Medintsev [14-02-07]|
Quick Composing TT-108 (sh=) C. 01-04-2014
Editorial board of international web project "SuperProblem" (http://superproblem.ru/index-en.html) announces a quick composing thematic tourney for serial help stalemate (longer problems are needed).
Award will be published on the website http://superproblem.ru
View/download the announcement on the link: http://superproblem.ru/doc/ads/TT-108_announcement.pdf (pdf, 48KB)
|(2) Posted by Miodrag Mladenović [Sunday, Feb 9, 2014 14:18]; edited by Miodrag Mladenović [14-02-09]|
I am wondering when you will stop updating examples for this tournament? Originally B-R problem was given as example. Today this problem is replaced with R-B example in 31 moves. Unless this problem is already published somewhere as an original (and it looks like it's not the case since there is no source for this problem) this is very bad thing to do. I already spent some time working on this scheme and now I see I wasted my time since this problem is anticipation of my problem. I already composed about 10 problems for this tournament but now I am considering publishing them somewhere else as originals before you update examples again and my problems become anticipated.
Can you please promise :) that you are not going to add any more examples (unless already published problems)? What was the reason for updating examples when theme was defined clearly?
|(3) Posted by Miodrag Mladenović [Sunday, Feb 9, 2014 15:34]; edited by Miodrag Mladenović [14-02-09]|
I just learned from Branko (neutral judge) that orignal sample:
(= 10+1 )
Solution: 1.Kxb7 2.Kxb6 3-8.Kxd1 9-12.Kxh5 13-16.Kd7 c8R=
has ben replaced with new problem. The reasoning for replacing this problem is that black could not play last move so set play is incorrect.
However in my opinion is that this is correct problem. I've been thought that set play is something that should white be able to play if he is on the move. It does not matter if black last move was possible or not? I am wondering what is opinion of other problemists about this problem.
In my opinion this is correct problem and set-play is valid.
It looks like judge has different opinion but then it should be clarified within tournament announcement.
|(4) Posted by Branislav Djurašević [Monday, Feb 10, 2014 12:46]; edited by Branislav Djurašević [14-02-10]|
The previously shown example has been withdrawn because the judge considered that the illegal position should refer not only to the solution but also to the set play. Therefore, a realizable (possible) last black move should exist. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this omission in the announcement may have caused.
|(5) Posted by Vitaly Medintsev [Monday, Feb 10, 2014 13:17]; edited by Vitaly Medintsev [14-02-10]|
I have thechnical function as the editor, so the director of quick composing tourneys had asked me to replace the example 2 with new example.
Below, you can see the explanation that was written by the judge of the tourney.
"One of the potential participants at 108 TT remarked that second example is not thematic because in the starting position set play is not possible because black had not the last move!? Even problem is sound per se, condition that illegal positions are forbidden for both sides, applies that Example 2 is not thematic. Judge accepted this remark and gives new example."
I did not consider that it is necessary to publish this explanation in the tourney announcement.
And I suppose that there will be no more examples :)
I feel sorry for your wasted time...
|(6) Posted by Joost de Heer [Friday, Feb 21, 2014 19:06]|
The new example is a very bad example, because it's a very good composition. Examples should be as simple as possible, and, especially for tourneys asking for length records, it should be clear that it can be improved.
|(7) Posted by Vitaly Medintsev [Saturday, Feb 22, 2014 08:21]|
I agree with you, Joost, but it was the judge decision.
|(8) Posted by Arno Tungler [Sunday, Feb 23, 2014 10:37]|
There was a question concerning the requirement: "in the final position all white pieces except the King must take part". Does that mean that the white king is not allowed to take part in the stalemate position? That would exclude ideal stalemates... Or does it just mean (as I understood) that the wK is not obliged to take part?
|(9) Posted by Branislav Djurašević [Monday, Feb 24, 2014 09:55]; edited by Branislav Djurašević [14-02-24]|
Arno, you are right with second statement. Namely, wK is not obliged to take part.
No more posts
MatPlus.Net Forum Competitions Quick Composing TT-108 (sh=) C. 01-04-2014