Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

1:35 CET



Remember me

Forgot your
Click here!
to create your account if you don't already have one.

Rating lists


MatPlus.Net Forum Competitions ARVES Memorial Theme Tourneys
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Yochanan Afek [Saturday, Dec 4, 2010 23:37]; edited by Yochanan Afek [10-12-04]

ARVES Memorial Theme Tourneys

ARVES announces 2 centenary theme composing tourneys to commemorate the 100 anniversary in 2010 of two fine composers who passed away prematurely: Mark Liburkin (1910- 1953) from Moscow (Russia) and Shaya Kozłowski (1910- 1943) from Łodz (Poland).

1) Mark Liburkin -100 Theme Tourney

Theme: Win or draw study displaying a Systematic manouver

M. Liburkin
4th Pr. Shakhmaty v SSSR, 1938
(= 3+4 )

White wins

1.Nd4+ Kc3 2.Nb5+ Kc4! [2...Kb4 3.Rb1+] 3.Nd6+ [3.Na3+? Kb3 4.Kxe1 Kb2 5.Nc2 Nf3+! (5...Kxc2? 6.Ra2+) 6.Kd1 g3 7.Ra8 g2] 3...Kc5! 4.Nb7+! [4.Ne4+? Kd5! (4...Kd4? 5.Ra4+) 5.Nf6+ Ke5! 6.Nd7+ Ke6 7.Nc5+ (7.Nf8+ Kf7) 7...Kd5] 4...Kc6 5.Nd8+ Kc7! 6.Ne6+ Kd7! [6...Kd6 7.Ra6+] 7.Nf8+! Ke7 8.Ng6+ Kf7 9.Nh8+ Kg7 10.Rxe1 Kxh8 11.Rh1 g3 12.Ke3! Kg7 13.Kf4 g2 14.Rg1 Nf1 15.Rxg2+ Kh6 16.Rf2 1–0

M. Liburkin
64, 1940

(= 4+3 )

White wins

1.Ka3! Rc1 2.Bd4! [2.Be5? Rc5 3.Bc3 Rxc3+] 2...Rd1 3.Be5! Re1 4.Bf6! Rf1 5.Bg7! Rg1 6.Bh8! Rg3+ 7.b3+ 1–0

Judge: Yochanan Afek

2) Shaya Kozłowski-100 Theme Tourney

Theme: A paradoxical piece action eventually simplifies into a winning or drawn pawn ending

S. Kozlowski
Glos Poranny,.1931

(= 3+3 )

White wins

1.Nd7+ Kc7 2.Nf8!! Kd8 [2...Kd6 3.Kg4! Kd5 4.Kh5 Ke5 5.Kg5 Ke4 6.Kh6 Kf5 7.Kg7 Kg5 8.Nd7] 3.Kf4 [3.Kg4] 3...Ke8 4.Kg5! Kxf8 5.Kh6! 1–0

S. Kozlowski
Glos Poranny, 1931

(= 4+5 )

White wins

1.Ng6+!! hxg6+ [1...Kg8 2.h5 hxg6+ 3.Kxg6] 2.Kxg6 Kg8 3.h5 Kh8 4.Kf7 g5 5.Kxf8 g4 6.Kxe7 g3 7.Kf7 g2 8.e7 g1Q 9.e8Q+ Kh7 10.Qe4+ Kh8 11.Qe5+ Kh7 12.Qf5+ Kh8 13.Qf6+ Kh7 14.Qg6+ Qxg6+ 15.hxg6+ 1–0

Judge: Harold van der Heijden

Total prize-fund: 600 Euros.
In each tourney 3 money-prizes will be awarded: 1) 150 Euros; 2) 100 Euros; 3) 50 Euros.
Book prizes will also be awarded
Entries should be sent before July 31st 2011 to the tourneys director:

. René Olthof
Achter 't Schaapshoofd 7,
5211 MC 's Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands

The awards will be published in EG at the second half of 2011.
(Read Only)pid=6418

No more posts

MatPlus.Net Forum Competitions ARVES Memorial Theme Tourneys