MatPlus.Net

 Website founded by
Milan Velimirović
in 2006

9:00 CET
 
  Forum*
 
 
 
 

Username:

Password:

Remember me

 
Forgot your
password?
Click here!
SIGN IN
to create your account if you don't already have one.
Rating List
1st October
2018

B P C F





 
 
MatPlus.Net Forum General Dumb Duals
 
You can only view this page!
(1) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Sunday, Nov 18, 2018 16:16]

Dumb Duals


Sometimes the following happens:

1...X~ 2.A
1...X->y?? 2.A,B

I.e. duals by Black playing extra dumb. Also works in 2nd degree,
where it is even sillier. (E.g. 301642 YACPDB, yesterday the
author complained bitterly that 1...Sd6 was seen as a dual.
It does not defend against 2.Bxd5. I tend to be sympathetic.)

What is your opinion on the matter? After all, if Black doesn't
defend against the primary threat, noone tends to care...

Hauke
 
(Read Only)pid=16879
(2) Posted by Geoff Foster [Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 08:20]

Here is the problem referred to by Hauke.

Dieter Berlin, Die Schwalbe 1980
(= 9+12 )
#2

1.Sxa4! (>2.Qd4)
1...S~ 2.Bxd5
1...Sf6 2.Rxc6
1...Sd6 2.Rxc6,Bxd5
1...Sg5 2.Sd2
1...Sc3 2.Sb2
1...Sc5 2.Sb6
1...Be3 2.Sxe3
1...Qg1 2.Be2

I would count 1...Sd6 2.Rxc6,Bxd5 as a dual, because 1...Sd6 is not a silly move. It is just a "random" move that happens to make the same error as 1...Sf6.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=16880
(3) Posted by Hauke Reddmann [Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 11:00]

But that's the point - you don't consider "random" moves
in the 1st degree.

(= 3+2 )


1.Kc8! (2.Db8) Rb7/Rc7 2.Qxb7/Sxc7

Would anybody claim 1...Ra~ as being dual- or Ra6 as even trialistic?

Thus the author claims you simply don't walk into Mordor or play
a move that doesn't defend against Bxd5.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=16881
(4) Posted by Georgy Evseev [Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 17:08]

Strictly speaking, any move of Se4 defends against 2.Qd4. So, S~ designation really means "any knight move not shown separately". So yes, it includes Sd6 and masks the dual.
How serious this dual is - is a separate question, with different answer from different judges.
 
   
(Read Only)pid=16882
(5) Posted by Geoff Foster [Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 22:32]

For black correction the play really needs to be completely accurate, otherwise the logic is spoiled. Here 1...S~ 2.Bxd5 is not strictly true, because one of the random moves is 1...Sd6, for which another mate exists. The point is that 1...S~ 2.Bxd5 appears in the solution, whereas other play such as 1...Qd7 2.Qd4,Be2 does not.

The quality of the play also has to be taken into account. For example, 1...d4 2.Qxd4,Sb6 is unpleasant, because it is a complex white interference mate and repeats the thematic variation 1...Sc5 2.Sb6.
 
 
(Read Only)pid=16883

No more posts


MatPlus.Net Forum General Dumb Duals